Blog

Starting Fresh

It’s been a while since I’ve actively maintained a blog. Unfortunately I’ve lost a lot of my old posts. No worries, I guess I’ll just have to start fresh. The reason I stopped blogging in the first place was because I was going through some major personal and professional changes. I find myself trying to remake myself into the person that I have always known that I could be.

One of the major facets that I’ve changed about myself is a more serious outlook when it comes to PHP. I’m currently working to expand knowledge of the language, and have started my own Snipplr account in order to build myself an online profile that people can reference if they want some sample of my abilities. It has more than just PHP works in it, so it has the added bonus of showing the diversity of my talents. I figure that as time goes on, it will become an important part of who I am as a coder.

I’ve also recently started work on my writing projects again. Due to stress and general emotional fatigue, I’ve found myself unable to put a plot together as of late. Finally things are starting to come together for me again, and I feel that I might be able to get back on track. With my new job and steady income, I’m a lot less stressed and can think a lot more clearly. I must admit the story at this point still sucks quite a bit, but at least I’m getting words to paper. I don’t want to talk too much about it right now, lest I jinx my creative vibe.

I’ve started work on HaKT Studios again. Right now there is only a place holder page as I work on the back end. I finished writing a modified cookie class, and have started work on the user class. The link to the class it’s based on is in the comment header. The original version was messy and had dependencies on Zend Framework. My version of course is completely stand-alone. I didn’t introduce too many changes from the original, but I did clean it up a lot. Mainly, I reformatted the code so that it is more readable, and updated a few things that I personally feel make it slightly more secure or efficient. It’s not the same as the original, as a lot of things were renamed in order to fit my own personal guidelines. I wanted it to have a nice structure and give it the ability to be dropped into just about any system without modification.

Well, that’s all that I have for right now. I’ll be sure to add more in the future.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.